This month, I’ve decided to take a break from contests to devote time to other pursuits, namely NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo.  The first is the National Novel Writing Month, where hundreds of thousands of crazy would-be (and actual!) novelists strive to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  The second is simpler, but ties in beautifully: post to your blog every single day for 30 days.  Not only does that create regularity for your blog, it gets you in the habit of writing, and is likely to help bring traffic to your site.  It’s a win-win.  I figured if nothing else, I can blog about my NaNoWriMo progress (which stalled in the alst 24 hours, by the way, I have a lot of catching up to do… more than 3,000 words’ worth, in fact!)

Given that, I’m not building on a deadline this month.

However, I have decided to start work on Dal’s house, which I outlined in a previous post.  I’ve already started, twice, in fact.  I’m taking this opportunity to try out things I haven’t been able to for the contests, partly because of lack of experience, and partly because of time constraints.  I’m using a bit of CFE (ConstrainFloorElevation) tricks, for one thing.

Suburban loft inspiration. Copyright FreeGreen.com

This rendering of a suburban loft is my primary inspiration for Dal's modern second home

I’ve chosen an inspiration house to base my design on.  Well, actually, two of them.  I found them on this website called FreeGreen.com.  I couldn’t get at the plans for those houses (no point in spending the money for Sims builds I won’t get paid for, after all!) but it’s fairly obvious where this is going.  I loved the two-story central bit, and of course anything red (my favorite color) attracts my eye anyway!

However, when looking at this house, I also saw one right next to it that had an awfully cool roofline I decided it would be terrific to  have.  The plan, then, is to try to use that roofline somehow and blend the two designs.  I don’t know yet how this will turn out (or how close it will be anyway), but I’m determined to give it a go.  What do you think?  Suburban loft with cool roof. Copyright FreeGreen.comI like that it, also, has a central core that’s distinct from the overall flat, straight-lined layout of the house.  I think it will be possible to blend both houses and still have it look good.

But first, I need to master CFE:  I’m planning on an underground garage on the back of the lot and a basement, which is creating unexpected problems.

Darn game limitations!

I’m determined, though, and if there’s a way to be found, I intend to find it.   I’ll keep you updated.

