Tags

, , , , ,

This is the final entry in the “Design Project” competition, hosted by the good people at ABC Magazine.  Whew!  It’s been one heck of a competition!  I had a terrific time, despite the tight deadlines and agonizing decisions.

This time, we were given the shell of a house, plain, no furniture, no floors, no wall coverings, nothing.  The task was simple:  Make a house.

Other than the usual no CC (custom content) stipulation and other such generally acceted requirements, the rules are pretty simple:

  • You can NOT change the outer shell, add foundation or do anything else that might alter the outer walls, EXCEPT you can move the outer walls in or out 1 space each. This goes for all the outer walls. You can make sections in the walls, as long as it’s still only moved either 1 space out or in.
  • You CAN remove / add any walls, fencing, etc. INSIDE the house.
  • You have to have AT LEAST 1 bedroom, 1 bath, 1 dining / kitchen / living. Open floor plans and efficiency style apartments are okay.

In other words, let loose. AWESOME!

I chose to return to the spirit of my initial entry, creating a one-bedroom, modern bachelor pad.  The color palette is more daring than I would normally go for; however, in search of inspiration, I came across the projected Spring 2012 colors and decided that would do just fine, thank you!  I selected the “Resilience” palette and went to town.  The result… well, see for yourself.

Again, I invite you to let me know what you think.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
