Tags

, , , , ,

The Bachelor pad's sitting areaIn the first part of the 6-part “Design Project” contest, hosted by ABC Magazine on TheSims3.com, contestants had to take a small room (6×8) and turn it into anything they liked.  In this basic white room (which matches the “White box” challenge in the famous HGTV show,) were a few basic elements which had to remain: the sofa, the floor lamp, the fire place, bookshelf, a wall mirror, the four-panel photo spread, and the end table.  Absolutely everything was plain, boring white.  The rules specified NO Custom Content allowed.

I took one look at that fireplace and thought “BACHELOR PAD!” So that is what I created.  Note that this is meant to be the place where the men hang out to watch the game, have some drinks, and generally hang out together; it’s not meant to be a full house, thus, there is no bathroom or kitchen.

Perhaps the approach of Halloween inspired me: I discovered the most terrific orange to use as an accent color, and I ran with it.  I had originally planned on using blue to offset the brown, but the orange, while unexpected, turned out very well, in my mind.  The judges thought fairly highly of it, too, awarding me 143.5 pts out of 160, 11.5 pts away from the winner, who earned 155pts.  Here’s how it broke down:

Judge 1:

  • Creativity: 8/10
  • Followed Directions: 10/10
  • Screenshots: 10/10
  • Overall Design: 9/10
  • Total: 37/40
  • Comments: I love that you used different wall coverings. I thought the space was decorated nicely and the colors work well together.

Judge 2:

  • Creativity: 9/10
  • Followed Directions: 10/10
  • Screenshots: 9/10
  • Overall Design: 9.5/10
  • Total: 37.5/10
  • Comments: I love the overall affect of it and it perfectly fits the bachelor theme. I’m also enjoying the pop of colour on the wallpaper and fireplace, and the subtle duck egg colours everywhere else. Very nice.

Judge 3:

  • Creativity: 7/10
  • Followed Directions: 10/10
  • Screenshots: 7/10
  • Overall Design: 5/10
  • Total: 34/40
  • Comments: I really liked your room. You had a good array of colors and patterns. Your furniture was spaced out and functional. My advice to you is to try some new building tricks. Add a halfway here or there, a platform or some columns. Give your room something to set it a part from the rest. Good job though.

Judge 4:

  • Creativity: 8/10
  • Followed Directions: 10/10
  • Screenshots: 9/10
  • Overall Design: 8/10
  •  Total: 35/40
  • Comments: Nice clean lines. Enjoyed the pops of color.

Please enjoy the small slideshow below, and stay tuned for the results of the second assignment.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
